BMW X3 Forum
BMW X3 Forum
Welcome to the ultimate BMW X3 community.
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

03-20-2017, 01:50 PM   #1
Matticus91
Brigadier General
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2013 135i

Question First at-fault accident, could use some advice

I pulled a dumb move and rear-ended someone at about 11mph. Their car had all of $700 in damage - mine? So far the tally is at over $11,000 and climbing... My car is worth (ACV) about $20k so it's approaching the limit percentage (75%) pretty quickly. I'm not worried about paying off my loan as I have GAP insurance.

My concerns are:
  1. How much might my insurance increase as a result?
  2. Could it be worth buying the car back, if so how much trouble is it to get back on the road/insured?
  3. The officer gave me a ticket for "failure to control at high speed", should I fight this? ($130, no points)

I've been driving for 8 years, am now 25y/o, and have a completely clean record other than this accident and ticket.

Also if it means anything the car is a 2013 BMW 135i, with about 67k miles on the clock. Is fully loaded and was in excellent shape before the accident.

Thank you in advance to anyone who can offer some input!
      03-20-2017, 01:55 PM   #2
C1Boston
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: Uber

1) If its your first accident most companies have accident forgiveness so you should follow up with your insurance company on that before anything. How much your insurance increase will be I have no idea.

2) Personally, I would not buy the car back because I would be happy with getting out of the loan due to GAP.

3)Fight it. Especially if you have an impeccable drivers record.
Appreciate 1
Taskmaster2463.00
      03-20-2017, 04:05 PM   #3
Taskmaster
Banned
Japan
Rep
Drives: M235i 6MT / E92 328 Msport 6MT

Quote:
Originally Posted by C1Boston View Post