BMW X3 Forum
BMW X3 Forum
Welcome to the ultimate BMW X3 community.
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

06-12-2019, 09:45 AM   #1
pin2
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2012 BMW X3 28i xDrive F25-N52

Looking for 1st BMW and reseaching.

Hello,

I am in the market for a new car I am a former MB driver ('97 E320, '98 E320, '10 ML350) and over the weekend I saw several BMWs that I am looking at getting. I wanted to do some research before I narrow my search.
I wanted to know what are the common problems the car is known to have that should be of concern. I am a DIYer and work on my cars (oil change, brakes, shocks...etc) but hear that this car starts to have major issues turbo and timing chain issue at 120K?

Car 1:
2013 BMW 535i xDrive the car is beautiful and loaded (climate/Premium/Technology) package with 88K. The Carfax looks clean 2 years lease 2 years owned by 1 owner and all service was done at the dealership.

Car2:
2012 BMW X3 28iX also fully loaded and has 61K miles on it. Also, CarFax looks good all work done at the dealership.

Can you share your experience on what common problems to consider?

Cheers,
Pin2
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2019, 10:27 AM   #2
Wgosma
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2012 F25 X3 28i (N52)

My guess is the 5-Series car is going to be a nicer ride than the X3; depends on what you're looking for however.