BMW X3 Forum
BMW X3 Forum
Welcome to the ultimate BMW X3 community.
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

05-28-2020, 10:19 AM   #1
spta97
Colonel
Rep
Drives: BMW 2020 X3MC

Wrapped My V-Brace

I always thought this looked cool so I wanted to do it.

My goal was to match the color of the ///M calipers and I found that 3M 1080 G217 Gloss DEEP Blue Metallic matched very well.

The hardest part was trying to get the ends of the brace wrapped well due to parts in the way. If I have to do it again I will try to remove the entire brace but I am hoping it will hold up. It's my first attempt at wrapping but pretty happy with the way it turned out (the parts you can see anyway ). It's subtle but noticeable in the sun.

Speaking of, I have to get some pics in the sun...

I'll probably tackle the engine braces next. Fun and cheap project with the exception of my grills not wanting to come out.

Appreciate 9
AlexFL7837.00
pluckydks621.50
smithf802808.50
cfm56d7b5886.00
r33_RGSport12967.50
leon360x139.50
      05-28-2020, 03:16 PM   #2
kzg1969
Lieutenant Colonel
Scotland
Rep
Drives: X3M Comp / M3 E93

looks good! the engine brace was on my list too and would be carbon - cant decide on colour for v-brace and carbon would be invisible
Appreciate 1
      05-28-2020, 03:25 PM   #3
spta97
Colonel
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by kzg1969 View Post
looks good! the engine brace was on my list too and would be carbon - cant decide on colour for v-brace and carbon would be invisible
Thanks!

I'm back and forth on carbon fiber or the blue for the engine braces as well. I really like the blue though I'm afraid it may look a bit much. I do like pop though.

For the braces, how about matching to your interior color (if you have red or yellow)?

The braces are so hidden most people won't notice they are wrapped regardless of color unless they see it head on.

When you decide, please post up some pics!
Appreciate 0
      05-28-2020, 03:59 PM   #4
BeyondVision
Enlisted Member
Rep