BMW X3 Forum
BMW X3 Forum
Welcome to the ultimate BMW X3 community.
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

12-29-2020, 06:03 PM   #1
woo102
Rep
Drives: 2011 x3 3.5i

x3 3.5i cranks but won't start

I'm new to the BMW world. I have a 2011 x3 3.5i with a lot of miles.....about 270k. The car ran great one day, parked it for the night, tried to start it up the next morning, and it cranks but won't start. It 'put-puts' a little like one cylinder tries to fire, but that's it.
I tried to check fuel presser only to discover there's no schrader valve. Then I dove a little deeper and found out there's SW called INPA that will allow me to turn on the LPFP and read the fuel pressure.
I bought a K+Dcan cable from Bimmer Geeks and downloaded their version of INPA.
I got everything installed and tried to connect to the car. I got some sort of error from INPA in german.....put it into google translator and saw it was complaining about the version.
The INPA version is v5.0.6.
I read a little bit about which version on INPA was compatible with the f025.....I didn't find anything conclusive.
Rather than struggle with this further, I figured it was time to reach out to someone in the community who has been through this troubleshooting before.
Is INPA the best (free) thing to use?
If so, which version do I need for a 2011 x3?
If not, what do I need?

Part of me is doing this because I'm interested in the possibility of being able to perform in depth troubleshooting......the other part of me just wants to get the thing running.

In between messing with the SW, I also checked to make sure the LPFP is turning on.....it is.
....and I pulled a coil, put a plug in it to check for spark....and it has spark.
I've read that the HPFP can cause symptoms like this (no start), but I don't know how to pinpoint the no start condition to the HPFP.

Any recommendations on SW or further troubleshooting of the no start condition would be appreciated.