BMW X3 Forum
BMW X3 Forum
Welcome to the ultimate BMW X3 community.
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
XBimmers | BMW X3 Forum BMW X3/X4 Forums BMW X3 (G01) / X4 (G02) Forum Bimmercode coding on G01 - Share you coding changes

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-28-2020, 02:56 PM   #2509
DPG23
New Member
0
Rep
12
Posts

Drives: 2020 X3 3.0i
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stammix View Post
Already tried, no success. I need a module for enhanced Bluetooth.
Just curious, do you have Navigation?
Appreciate 0
      05-28-2020, 02:57 PM   #2510
DPG23
New Member
0
Rep
12
Posts

Drives: 2020 X3 3.0i
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by titomi View Post
Thanks I will give it a shot.
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2020, 03:05 AM   #2511
jimmmyzhou
New Member
14
Rep
26
Posts

Drives: BMW X3 30i
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: CN

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Douggie View Post
If you triggered everything active under M_GMBH (quite a few items), do you get anything extra in the Idrive menus?

And could you please give more details on the M HUD codes ("enable the ones with M options")? Thanks
Hi, detailed version:

1. Search for "mview" in DKOMBI4 module, enable all the related items;
2. Search for "3010 M_GMBH" part in HU_MGU module, and enable the sub items, except for "m_vehicle_sp2018", and for those items with value options, choose "werte 02".

And yes, I'll get an extra M menu in my iDrive HU, it looks like below, you have options for configuring your gearbox, engine, suspension, steering in different modes, but sadly they are not changable and will not take effect, because we are not the real M vehicle haha.

(Sorry for the pic is in Chinese but you can clearly see the M options. The vehicle color is configurable using BC, search for color in MGU module.)

Appreciate 1
Douggie72.50

      05-29-2020, 03:08 AM   #2512
jimmmyzhou
New Member
14
Rep
26
Posts

Drives: BMW X3 30i
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: CN

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by _ink View Post
Wow! would like to know if this is possible for iD6, but I don't think the chances are high here...
Yeah since I don't have an ID6 version G01 I'm afraid I couldn't help you, but you can always explore with expert mode using BC in kombi and HU module and search for M/HUD related options.
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2020, 03:22 AM   #2513
jimmmyzhou
New Member
14
Rep
26
Posts

Drives: BMW X3 30i
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: CN

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by turboisetta View Post
Iím also interested to see if we can code an X3M cluster and HUD into pre-2020 cars (round dials but still full digital display).

I fired up BimmerCode to try and replicate the results above. Unsurprisingly, the coding options are different on ID6 cars. I enabled everything I could track down with ďMĒ in the name in the head unit and KOMBI2 modules. Sadly, i was unable to get the X3M cluster to show. I was able to get the head unit to show ďM setupĒ and the M heads up display as an option and I could even check the box, but I could not get the shift lights and rev counter to appear in the HUD.

I am extremely interested in successfully coding this onto my 2019 car, not only for the shift lights but also for the oil temperature to replace the coolant temp display (ďOEL_TEMP_ENABLEĒ is an option but doesnít seem to do anything).

Maybe I should hook up my friendís ID6 X3M and see what is set to active and whatís not. Not sure heíd let me do that, but worth a shot.

If anyone is able to do this, Iíd be happy to pass along a small research fee





Some info(maybe not 100% correct): iD6 X3M uses different cluster hardware although the normal one you get is also full digital. So if you want the M cluster the only possible way is to change your original one with a X3M one.
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2020, 03:39 AM   #2514
Douggie
First Lieutenant
73
Rep
356
Posts

Drives: BMW X1, 5
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Asia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmmyzhou View Post
Hi, detailed version:

1. Search for "mview" in DKOMBI4 module, enable all the related items;
2. Search for "3010 M_GMBH" part in HU_MGU module, and enable the sub items, except for "m_vehicle_sp2018", and for those items with value options, choose "werte 02".

And yes, I'll get an extra M menu in my iDrive HU, it looks like below, you have options for configuring your gearbox, engine, suspension, steering in different modes, but sadly they are not changable and will not take effect, because we are not the real M vehicle haha.

(Sorry for the pic is in Chinese but you can clearly see the M options. The vehicle color is configurable using BC, search for color in MGU module.)

Thanks for the reply! Ok, I'm gonna give it a try again later. I did not enable the "MVIEW" for the "NAVI" stuff in the DKOMBI module (because I know it doesn't work). I also did not enable everything under M_GMBH either (just guessed which one is related to the M HUD), guess it doesn't work that way LOL.

Have you tried getting easy entry to work?
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2020, 06:12 AM   #2515
jimmmyzhou
New Member
14
Rep
26
Posts

Drives: BMW X3 30i
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: CN

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Douggie View Post
Thanks for the reply! Ok, I'm gonna give it a try again later. I did not enable the "MVIEW" for the "NAVI" stuff in the DKOMBI module (because I know it doesn't work). I also did not enable everything under M_GMBH either (just guessed which one is related to the M HUD), guess it doesn't work that way LOL.

Have you tried getting easy entry to work?
You can for sure spend some time figuring which combination of M_GMBH and MVIEW options will get M HUD to work haha. For easy entry, I guess you mean comfort entry?I have this feature factory enabled, so no need to code.
Appreciate 1
_ink364.50

      05-29-2020, 06:30 AM   #2516
titomi
Major
titomi's Avatar
Netherlands
516
Rep
1,373
Posts

Drives: X3 G01 30i xDrive
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: EU

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2018 X3 G01  [0.00]
You might want to post ID7 related coding to already existing thread: iDrive 7 Coding - Bimmercode & eSys https://x3.xbimmers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1657248
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2020, 06:31 AM   #2517
titomi
Major
titomi's Avatar
Netherlands
516
Rep
1,373
Posts

Drives: X3 G01 30i xDrive
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: EU

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2018 X3 G01  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmmyzhou View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Douggie View Post
Thanks for the reply! Ok, I'm gonna give it a try again later. I did not enable the "MVIEW" for the "NAVI" stuff in the DKOMBI module (because I know it doesn't work). I also did not enable everything under M_GMBH either (just guessed which one is related to the M HUD), guess it doesn't work that way LOL.

Have you tried getting easy entry to work?
You can for sure spend some time figuring which combination of M_GMBH and MVIEW options will get M HUD to work haha. For easy entry, I guess you mean comfort entry?I have this feature factory enabled, so no need to code.
I guess he meant moving the seats back as you enter/exit the car.
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2020, 07:02 AM   #2518
jimmmyzhou
New Member
14
Rep
26
Posts

Drives: BMW X3 30i
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: CN

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by titomi View Post
I guess he meant moving the seats back as you enter/exit the car.
I get it. And thanks I'll post in ID7 thread.
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2020, 10:19 AM   #2519
fricfracfrank
Captain
fricfracfrank's Avatar
United_States
282
Rep
681
Posts

Drives: 2019 X3 M40i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmmyzhou View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by titomi View Post
I guess he meant moving the seats back as you enter/exit the car.
I get it. And thanks I'll post in ID7 thread.
So this works in id7 but not 6?
__________________
Follow: instagram.com/5borobimmers/

Present: 2019 X3 M40i Phytonic Blue
Past: 2013 335i xdrive Estoril Blue
2011 328i xdrive Black Sapphire Metallic
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2020, 11:12 AM   #2520
JD-X4M40i
Enlisted Member
JD-X4M40i's Avatar
30
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: X4 M40i G02
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Buckie, Scotland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
PM Sent
Can I discuss the possibility of this option for me.
My car has
KAFAS
HU_NBT_EVO
DKOMBI2
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2020, 03:24 PM   #2521
stammix
New Member
3
Rep
22
Posts

Drives: BMW G01
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Romania

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DPG23 View Post
Just curious, do you have Navigation?
Yes, Professional one. Strange, but I miss something...
Appreciate 0
      05-30-2020, 02:29 AM   #2522
turboisetta
New Member
8
Rep
12
Posts

Drives: 2019 X3 M40i
Join Date: May 2020
Location: San Francisco

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmmyzhou View Post
Some info(maybe not 100% correct): iD6 X3M uses different cluster hardware although the normal one you get is also full digital. So if you want the M cluster the only possible way is to change your original one with a X3M one.
You are correct. I was under the impression it was the same part because the digital dashes look identical, but they are in fact different part numbers.

I donít even want the X3M cluster, I just want oil temp signal display in place of the M40iís coolant temp display, and I want the shift lights in the heads up display in Sport Plus.

Iím going to investigate some more. I feel confident that at a minimum, the M shift lights could be coded onto the ID6 M40i. Iíll look at my friendís X3M with ID6 and report back.

If anyone else can crack it in the interim, let me know!
Appreciate 2
      05-31-2020, 10:49 AM   #2523
jimmmyzhou
New Member
14
Rep
26
Posts

Drives: BMW X3 30i
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: CN

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fricfracfrank View Post
So this works in id7 but not 6?
Hi you mean moving seat when exiting? I didn't find how to enable it on my iD7 X3 yet, and sorry I don't have information about iD6 system to share.
Appreciate 1
      05-31-2020, 05:40 PM   #2524
Alias1431
Captain
Alias1431's Avatar
United_States
254
Rep
955
Posts

Drives: 2019 BMW X3 M40i
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Washington

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by turboisetta View Post
You are correct. I was under the impression it was the same part because the digital dashes look identical, but they are in fact different part numbers.

I donít even want the X3M cluster, I just want oil temp signal display in place of the M40iís coolant temp display, and I want the shift lights in the heads up display in Sport Plus.

Iím going to investigate some more. I feel confident that at a minimum, the M shift lights could be coded onto the ID6 M40i. Iíll look at my friendís X3M with ID6 and report back.

If anyone else can crack it in the interim, let me know!
There are dozens of us with our fingers crossed that you're successful. Dozens!
Appreciate 1
      06-02-2020, 03:01 PM   #2525
Torinalth
Private First Class
50
Rep
160
Posts

Drives: 2019 x3 M40i
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: North Carolina

iTrader: (0)

anyone else run into this problem? I hadn't tried to code anything in a long time, so I tried some new stuff and seemed to break one old thing. I used to have my mirrors fold on lock, but since doing some new stuff (mirror tilt only 50% on reverse and starting in sport individual mode) it wont fold mirrors anymore. I've played with the option a few times coding it off and back on to fold mirrors and it doesn't do anything. Any ideas>?
__________________
2019 X3 M40i - Phytonic Blue - MST Intake, ER catted/coated DP, BM3 stage 2 93/e30, 275/40/20 Michelin MPS4
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2020, 03:05 PM   #2526
Barrancos
Private
Spain
33
Rep
84
Posts

Drives: X3 G01 30D
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Reus - Spain

iTrader: (0)

Last time i coded my mirrors did not fold as well, but you can change that from Idrive menu, no coding needed.
Appreciate 0
      06-03-2020, 05:21 AM   #2527
comber
Private First Class
comber's Avatar
Spain
60
Rep
136
Posts

Drives: G01 xDrive30d Luxury 21" V726i
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Spain

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torinalth View Post
anyone else run into this problem? I hadn't tried to code anything in a long time, so I tried some new stuff and seemed to break one old thing. I used to have my mirrors fold on lock, but since doing some new stuff (mirror tilt only 50% on reverse and starting in sport individual mode) it wont fold mirrors anymore. I've played with the option a few times coding it off and back on to fold mirrors and it doesn't do anything. Any ideas>?
Did you make a backup of your profile and restored after coding? (just go to profiles in iDrive menu and choose export to USB...after coding, do the same but importing it)

Depending on what unit you code, you loose some iDrive settings, so it is highly recommended to restore your profile backup after finishing coding.
Appreciate 0
      06-03-2020, 02:08 PM   #2528
Torinalth
Private First Class
50
Rep
160
Posts

Drives: 2019 x3 M40i
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: North Carolina

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barrancos View Post
Last time i coded my mirrors did not fold as well, but you can change that from Idrive menu, no coding needed.
Quote:
Originally Posted by comber View Post
Did you make a backup of your profile and restored after coding? (just go to profiles in iDrive menu and choose export to USB...after coding, do the same but importing it)

Depending on what unit you code, you loose some iDrive settings, so it is highly recommended to restore your profile backup after finishing coding.
ended up being what barrancos noted. apparently it undid the check box in idrive even though it was coded previously when the DME restarted. not sure when I got the check box, didn't used to be there.... either way, its working now.

good info on the backup though, I'll need to do that in general for safety sake.
__________________
2019 X3 M40i - Phytonic Blue - MST Intake, ER catted/coated DP, BM3 stage 2 93/e30, 275/40/20 Michelin MPS4
Appreciate 1
      06-06-2020, 03:15 PM   #2529
Eclimax13
Private
36
Rep
76
Posts

Drives: BMW X3 xdrive30i
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Massachusetts

iTrader: (0)

Any way to activate an instant mpg gauge? I know the new cluster has it and the x1 has it.
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2020, 12:14 PM   #2530
DPG23
New Member
0
Rep
12
Posts

Drives: 2020 X3 3.0i
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Los Angeles, CA

iTrader: (0)

Finally got my BT adapter and every time i try to access the headunit i get an error message. All other modules can be accessed just fine. Anybody else have this issue?
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 AM.




xbimmers
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST