BMW X3 Forum
BMW X3 Forum
Welcome to the ultimate BMW X3 community.
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

10-26-2020, 11:31 AM   #1
SANK_CH
Captain
Switzerland
Rep
Drives: A Number 4

Merino leather sensitive/fragile?

Hi Everyone,

This is my first car with Merino leather seats, I took the Tartufo as I m a big fan of the combo: dark grey outside + brown inside. But I have no experience with Merino leather seats before.

In my previous cars (3 times brown, 1 time black) The leather was Nevada, and I have never had any issue, even if I never cleaned / took care of the seats.

So after a year of owning the F98, my driver seat has strongly darken. I have applied a leather care kit from BMW (in the evening letting it having a rest during the night), with not a real success. Some parts were a bit better. But then after the treatment , the leather darkened even quicker mostly in the back area (one detail; I don't wear jeans).

I gave it to my dealer to clean it, but with 2 attemps they could not bring it back to it's original colour, using 2 differents way of cleaning it.

So my question to those who are used with Merino leather seats, are you spending all your weekend to clean it? Is this leather so sensitive to sweat?
thx for your comments.
Appreciate 0
      10-26-2020, 11:47 AM   #2
Wills2
Barge driver
Ukraine
Rep
Drives: 730d

The leather is sealed but dye transfer can be visible on the surface with the lighter coloured leathers, I use a good leather cleaner and a soft leather brush to clean the leather every 6 months together with a microfibre cloth to lift the excess away and dry, that's always worked on all my merino leathers.
      10-26-2020, 01:59 PM   #3
MaxGainz
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: 2020 X3MC

Like wills2 said. Cleaning only, no need to treat it as its already sealed. I had merino leather in my last vehicule and just water+washing machine soap was enough to clean and make it look new. But for lighter color dye transfer can happen