BMW X3 Forum
BMW X3 Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
XBimmers | BMW X3 Forum > BMW X3 Forums | E83 (2003-2010) > First Generation BMW X3 General Forum » Getting error code 'gas cap loose'...

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-10-2014, 02:02 PM   #1
Swish
Second Lieutenant
United_States
15
Rep
230
Posts

Drives: 2011 335i Sport
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PA

iTrader: (0)

Getting error code 'gas cap loose'...

...or words to that affect, on my wifes '06 X3. We removed the gas cap and put it back on about 10 times and continue to get the same error on the dash board.

Has anyone had a similar problem and know of the cause and/or fix?

Thank you in advance.

Swish
Appreciate 0
      06-16-2014, 03:27 PM   #2
jaskispyder
New Member
2
Rep
17
Posts

Drives: Z4
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: na

iTrader: (0)

Do you reset the code each time? What is the code?
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2014, 08:46 PM   #3
BMW0299
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: 2010 128i M Sport
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Martinsburg WV

iTrader: (0)

Mine has been doing that for years now. It comes and goes for a few times after a fill up and then stays off. Minor annoyance.
Appreciate 0
      08-14-2014, 07:48 PM   #4
NewBiemer
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: E83 1/2006
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

I read something somewhere about a charcoal filter located right near there that might be the culprit. However my light went away so I never looked into it further...
Appreciate 0
      08-16-2014, 06:28 AM   #5
pri35
New Member
0
Rep
6
Posts

Drives: BMW X3 2010
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Falmouth, Maine

iTrader: (0)

Happened to me. Bought a new gas cap ($20 on ebay) and the problem went away.
Appreciate 0
      08-31-2014, 11:34 AM   #6
elevatorguy
elevatorguy
elevatorguy's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: 2006 X3
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Indana

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swish View Post
...or words to that affect, on my wifes '06 X3. We removed the gas cap and put it back on about 10 times and continue to get the same error on the dash board.

Has anyone had a similar problem and know of the cause and/or fix?

Thank you in advance.

Swish
Mine does the same when I fill it then it goes off after a while.
I believe there is a service bulletin on that for the 06 x3
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:36 PM.




xbimmers
xbimmers
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST