BMW X3 Forum
BMW X3 Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
XBimmers | BMW X3 Forum > BMW X3 Forums | F25 (2011 - Current) > Second Generation BMW X3 General Forum » Can I swap out amps to upgrade my F25 base system???

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-30-2013, 08:49 AM   #1
lair12
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2012 X3 35i
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Cary, NC

Posts: 37
iTrader: (0)

Can I swap out amps to upgrade my F25 base system???

Looking at thebmwofsouthatlanta site which lists all part numbers, it seems to indicate that there is only one wiring harness for all X3 F25 models.

This would imply that the rear D-pillar speakers wire are already there and that the harness connection for the 12 speaker 205W system is the same as for the 16 speaker 600 watt dsp upgraded system. Is the harness connection the same??

Could I just buy the 600 watt amp and drop it in my vehicle? Will the existing harness directly connect and be fully functioning? What would it take (if possible) to then get the equalization on the head unit display?

I've bought new upgraded front speakers, so I could buy the d-pillar mounts and trim pieces and drop my front speakers in there. I count nine twisted pairs going into the harness, which suggests that the wires for the rear would indeed be in D-pillar. Would this give me a fully functioning 16 speaker system?

Last edited by lair12; 01-30-2013 at 10:33 AM.
lair12 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-31-2013, 12:55 PM   #2
Radioactive
Captain
 
Drives: '11 X3 28i '10 535i '04 325i
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: San Diego

Posts: 648
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lair12 View Post
Could I just buy the 600 watt amp and drop it in my vehicle? Will the existing harness directly connect and be fully functioning? What would it take (if possible) to then get the equalization on the head unit display?
I BELIEVE (meaning that I could be wrong) that the signal with the premium sound is a digital signal from the head unit to the DSP/Amp in the rear area. So my guess answer is NO.
Radioactive is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:24 PM.




xbimmers
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST