BMW X3 Forum
BMW X3 Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
XBimmers | BMW X3 Forum > BMW X3 Forums | F25 (2011 - Current) > Second Generation BMW X3 General Forum » Hardwire RADAR detector install question

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-05-2012, 03:13 PM   #1
bluesmachine
Private First Class
 
Drives: 2011 X3 35i White / Chestnut
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: N'England

Posts: 135
iTrader: (0)

Hardwire RADAR detector install question

I'm heading to a local place to get a hardwire Passsport 8500 radar detector install.

It will be placed on windshield and the guy over the phone said they will run an unseen cord thru the headliner.

Has anyone done this ? I think I remember reading about getting power from the rear view mirror somewhere in this or a different forum.

It's a 2011 X3 35i (Alpine White on Red for the record!).

Thanks in advance.
bluesmachine is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-06-2012, 07:56 PM   #2
ReturnZero
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2013 X3 35i M-Sport
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chandler, Arizona

Posts: 300
iTrader: (1)

I did my hardwire, used power in the top console from the wiring harness headed to the mirror. Wasn't a big deal. Just make sure that you can't see the wiring and make sure it's a reputable shop that offers some sort of labor warranty.
ReturnZero is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-06-2012, 08:40 PM   #3
0utlier
Private
 
0utlier's Avatar
 
Drives: X3 XDrive35i
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Hattiesburg, MS

Posts: 62
iTrader: (0)

I wouldn't pay someone to hardwire your detector. There is a super easy DIY way to hardwire from the fuse panel in the back. No cutting into your top console or anything. It's as stealth as any other way with no wires to be seen. You need a simple fuse tap, hardwire kit, and a few feet of 16 gauge wire (I think that's the gauge) to extend the hardwire kit.

Less than 30 minutes from start to finish and you're done. If you (or anyone) is interested in my install I'll document it with pics and video.
0utlier is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-06-2012, 09:59 PM   #4
cadman50
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2012 X3 35i
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Massachusetts

Posts: 261
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 0utlier View Post
I wouldn't pay someone to hardwire your detector. There is a super easy DIY way to hardwire from the fuse panel in the back. No cutting into your top console or anything. It's as stealth as any other way with no wires to be seen. You need a simple fuse tap, hardwire kit, and a few feet of 16 gauge wire (I think that's the gauge) to extend the hardwire kit.

Less than 30 minutes from start to finish and you're done. If you (or anyone) is interested in my install I'll document it with pics and video.
Outlier I sent you a PM.
cadman50 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-07-2012, 06:27 PM   #5
0utlier
Private
 
0utlier's Avatar
 
Drives: X3 XDrive35i
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Hattiesburg, MS

Posts: 62
iTrader: (0)

Below is a quick video of what my installation looks like. It's real simple to do. I started at the detector and started running wires. When I ran out of wire from the direct wire kit I used two butt splice connectors and added more wire as needed to reach the ground point and fuse panel.

On the fuse panel I used fuse 186. It is on the bottom row. Third from the left.


What you'll need.

You can buy this stuff where ever you want. Below is where I got mine.

Direct Wire Kit.
http://www.amazon.com/Escort-79-0010...words=fuse+tap

Fuse tap (add-a-circuit)
http://www.amazon.com/Littelfuse-FHA...words=fuse+tap

Extra wire
Several feet of black and red 16 gauge wire (I think it's 16 gauge). Just visit Radio Shack or the like and roughly match the size of power lead on the add-a-circuit.

2 butt splice connectors
You can get those at Radio Shack or any automotive parts store.

Tip...

Put the 20amp BMW OEM fuse closest to the prongs on the add-a-circuit, and put the 10amp detector fuse above it lined up with the red power wire of the add-a-circuit.

Any questions just ask.

0utlier is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-15-2012, 02:24 AM   #6
DUI Elite
///M at Heart
 
DUI Elite's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 SGM E90
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chicago, IL

Posts: 1,645
iTrader: (4)

I wouldn't recommend using a 10 amp fuse for your detector. It's not really protecting your detector unless you have another fuse somewhere in your wire.

I'd say 2 Amp for the radar detector's slot. Actual draw from something like a radar detector is like 0.4 amps, maybe 0.8 - 1.1 amps at full volume (during an alert) and brightness.

The add-a-circuit's are rated for 10 amps.

Great tips on hiding the wire! I'll be doing this probably tomorrow. Strange that the F25's fusebox is in the boot area. I'm used to searching behind the glovebox. While I appreciate the extra room to work, so much more wire needed lol.
DUI Elite is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-15-2012, 10:14 AM   #7
02420X3
Captain
 
Drives: 2011 X3 35i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Boston

Posts: 683
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DUI Elite View Post
Strange that the F25's fusebox is in the boot area. I'm used to searching behind the glovebox.
There are two fuseboxes. One is behind the glovebox, one is in the rear cargo area. You'll find the fuse diagram near the rear fusebox.
02420X3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-15-2012, 04:37 PM   #8
DUI Elite
///M at Heart
 
DUI Elite's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 SGM E90
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chicago, IL

Posts: 1,645
iTrader: (4)

Do accessory circuits only turn off after 15 min?

I checked with a test light and it seemed to work, but then when i powered up the detector, it won't turn off with ignition.
DUI Elite is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-14-2013, 02:18 PM   #9
lotus18
New Member
 
Drives: 2013 x3
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: houston, texas

Posts: 18
iTrader: (0)

i tried your suggestion, but the186 is always hot...wonder how u made it switchable.....?
anyway, with some modification,i was able to hardwire to the overhead console with the green/brown wire going to the homelink as suggested by alanintx in other thread.
lotus18 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56 PM.




xbimmers
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST