BMW X3 Forum
BMW X3 Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
XBimmers | BMW X3 Forum > BMW X3 Forums | F25 (2011 - Current) > Second Generation BMW X3 General Forum » SatNav speeds - Based on Horse & Cart?

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-08-2013, 06:09 AM   #1
5mph
New Member
1
Rep
19
Posts

 
Drives: X3
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Oxford

iTrader: (0)

SatNav speeds - Based on Horse & Cart?

Anyone know what the configuration speeds the SatNav uses?
The journey times it produces are nonsense, 25% to 50% too much.
The problem seems to be that it is set for about 15mph for all roads other than Motorways and Trunk roads which seem to be 70mph and 45mph.
Can it be changed?

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2013, 04:57 PM   #2
Jurisprudent
Second Lieutenant
Jurisprudent's Avatar
5
Rep
224
Posts

 
Drives: '13 X3 35i
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Charleston, SC

iTrader: (0)

Maybe I'm imagining it, but it seems that mine has gotten much better in this regard over time. I don't know if it is learning my speeds, or if I'm just imagining it, but I do remember thinking the same thing as you when I first got the X.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2013, 05:29 PM   #3
xDrive35i
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
45
Rep
1,784
Posts

 
Drives: Porsche Macan S
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (0)

It is based on your average speed and some factor of speed limits and RTTI. It will always give you more time even when it learns you fully.
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2013, 05:32 PM   #4
pharding
Captain
United_States
26
Rep
880
Posts

 
Drives: '11 550i + '14 X3 28i
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Somewhere

iTrader: (0)

I find it surprisingly accurate once it gets you dialed in.
__________________
14 550i Euro Del
14 X3
11 550i Euro Del
Retired: 08 550i Euro Del; 06 330i Euro Del; 04 545i Euro Del; 01 530i Euro Del
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2013, 12:57 AM   #5
ReturnZero
First Lieutenant
United_States
7
Rep
308
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 X3 35i M-Sport
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Dallas, Texas

iTrader: (1)

Yeah it's within minutes for me now, and I... uhh... don't exactly follow the posted speeds.
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2013, 06:31 AM   #6
5mph
New Member
1
Rep
19
Posts

 
Drives: X3
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Oxford

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pharding View Post
I find it surprisingly accurate once it gets you dialed in.
Odd since I have used it for 5 months and never knowingly obeyed the speed limits yet it still assumes 15 mph for all roads other than main ones. It picks up traffic problems OK, although on one section it thought the road closed, which it wasnt, it had a hissy fit and refused to show the Speed Limit, just complained "Road Closed".

It really is a bizarre mixture of clever stuff mixed up with badly thought out stuff. If North Korea made SatNavs then the BMW one is what they would produce.
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2013, 07:26 AM   #7
philtrick123
Lieutenant
6
Rep
407
Posts

 
Drives: TBA
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Maidenhead

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5mph View Post
It really is a bizarre mixture of clever stuff mixed up with badly thought out stuff. If North Korea made SatNavs then the BMW one is what they would produce.
I totally agree with this comment. I love the dual screen view on the Pro Nav + Google Send to Car feature, but there are a number of issues-
1- absence of a complete set of postcodes is criminal
2- Unable to select a destination from Map input. I used to be able to do this in my last car- but have to use Google Send to Car. It looks very odd having a 2000+ sat nav system but resorting to using my phone to enter the destination.

I'm still glad I choose this expensive option- just wish it was better!
Sorry
Appreciate 0
      03-16-2013, 05:05 AM   #8
sfax
Brigadier General
sfax's Avatar
United Kingdom
54
Rep
3,853
Posts

 
Drives: BMW X3 2011 F25
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Berkshire, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5mph View Post
Anyone know what the configuration speeds the SatNav uses?
The journey times it produces are nonsense, 25% to 50% too much.
The problem seems to be that it is set for about 15mph for all roads other than Motorways and Trunk roads which seem to be 70mph and 45mph.
Can it be changed?

Thanks
I've always found it very accurate (within 5% generally) but i think this may be related to the latest RTTI software which factors in more information and probably messes it up.

The vectors for all of the roads in the UK are widely available and I think it's only when the software starts adjusting them that you get inaccuracies (hence me blaming RTTI which I don't have on mine)
__________________

F25 xDrive20d SE __ professional multimedia package | dynamic package | climate package | 309s | xline | xenons | electric seats | folding mirrors | business speakers
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 PM.




xbimmers
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST