BMW X3 Forum
BMW X3 Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
XBimmers | BMW X3 Forum > BMW X3 Forums | F25 (2011 - Current) > Second Generation BMW X3 General Forum » Coding made Easy: A step by step procedure

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-28-2012, 10:35 AM   #111
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 3,749
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by DasBavaria View Post
Hey April1,

I should be getting my X3 in approx. 3 weeks now and I wanted to get in to coding a few of the variables in my car as well. Do you still have any of the ENET Cables? Or a reputable source that I may be able to buy them off of?

Thanks.
If April1 is out; look here:

One-Stop Electronics (China)
http://www.one-stop-electronics.com/...&product_id=20

Price: $29.00
Paypal details:
info@one-stop-electronics.com

The price is very good, and it looks like a quality build. While I do not know anyone who has purchased their ENET Interface Cable, several E-Series owners have spoken very highly about their BMW INPA / Ediabas K+DCAN USB Interface cable, so I would expect the quality to be the same.

Of course ATOMIS (Codecard) remains an option as well:

ATOMIS (aka Codecard) in Lithuania:
http://www.codecard.lt/electronics/t.../prod_651.html
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-28-2012, 11:51 AM   #112
April1
Love All
 
April1's Avatar
 
Drives: X3 28i 2011
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: San Francisco

Posts: 738
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via Yahoo to April1
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
If April1 is out; look here:

One-Stop Electronics (China)
http://www.one-stop-electronics.com/...&product_id=20

Price: $29.00
Paypal details:
info@one-stop-electronics.com

The price is very good, and it looks like a quality build. While I do not know anyone who has purchased their ENET Interface Cable, several E-Series owners have spoken very highly about their BMW INPA / Ediabas K+DCAN USB Interface cable, so I would expect the quality to be the same.

Of course ATOMIS (Codecard) remains an option as well:

ATOMIS (aka Codecard) in Lithuania:
http://www.codecard.lt/electronics/t.../prod_651.html
April1 will never be easily out., will give you continued support Members who have interacted, should say about the quality and service, not me.
April1 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-28-2012, 12:22 PM   #113
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 3,749
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by April1 View Post
April1 will never be easily out., will give you continued support Members who have interacted, should say about the quality and service, not me.
If I ever need another one, you would be my first call.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-28-2012, 04:48 PM   #114
mdallas
New Member
 
Drives: 2013 X3 35i
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Vermont

Posts: 29
iTrader: (0)

2013 F25 35i

coded:

close trunk/tailgate on FOB
close trunk/tailgate on button driverside
DVD in Motion
iDrive disclaimer
temp and pressure to TPMS screen


anything else good out there!??

thank you April1!
mdallas is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-28-2012, 09:51 PM   #115
BeeMdblU
Second Lieutenant
 
BeeMdblU's Avatar
 
Drives: F30 328 XDS, CLK55, F25 35
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Montreal

Posts: 205
iTrader: (0)

April1 is very good quality with great service
BeeMdblU is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-28-2012, 10:43 PM   #116
jdg857
Enlisted Member
 
jdg857's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 X3 XDrive 28i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Santa Fe, NM

Posts: 33
iTrader: (0)

I bought a cable from April1 and it works perfectly. It was an easy decision because of all the work he has put into F25 coding. We should support him.
__________________
1974 2002 that was fun
1986 325 cinnabar red black leather cool
1994 325 smooth as a gravy sandwich
2011 X3 after a long dry spell, the fun is back.
jdg857 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-28-2012, 11:03 PM   #117
DasBavaria
New Member
 
Drives: X3 28i
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Edmonton, AB

Posts: 8
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by April1 View Post
April1 will never be easily out., will give you continued support Members who have interacted, should say about the quality and service, not me.
Haha. Do you have a paypal then or an email I could reach you at. I don't have the required amount of posts to be able to message you directly.

I would rather support you and all the work you have done for the F25 community as well.
DasBavaria is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      08-29-2012, 01:29 AM   #118
April1
Love All
 
April1's Avatar
 
Drives: X3 28i 2011
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: San Francisco

Posts: 738
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via Yahoo to April1
Look at the first post, post changed to use newly available psdz data file 47.4
April1 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-31-2012, 07:43 PM   #119
April1
Love All
 
April1's Avatar
 
Drives: X3 28i 2011
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: San Francisco

Posts: 738
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via Yahoo to April1
Many have asked me if it is really necessary to switch over to data 47.4 from earlier used 46.3.

We have not seen noticeable issues with dataset 47.4 with 2011-2013 cars but yes you might need dataset 47.4 for the cars coming out of production now. Dataset 46.3 was very stable for earlier cars and unless you want to try new features, I dont see you to change over to new set immidiately. This is my personal opinion. Datasets will keep changing in future, that doesnt mean you should continue to chase them.

In reality, most of the people just want few features to be added and once they are done, they dont want further chnages.
April1 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-31-2012, 07:48 PM   #120
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 3,749
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by April1 View Post
Many have asked me if it is really necessary to switch over to data 47.4 from earlier used 46.3.

We have not seen noticeable issues with dataset 47.4 with 2011-2013 cars but yes you might need dataset 47.4 for the cars coming out of production now. Dataset 46.3 was very stable for earlier cars and unless you want to try new features, I dont see you to change over to new set immidiately. This is my personal opinion. Datasets will keep changing in future, that doesnt mean you should continue to chase them.

In reality, most of the people just want few features to be added and once they are done, they dont want further chnages.
Any new features too would only come if you first flashed the firmware on an ECU, as without that, you are using the identical CAFD as what is already on the car.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-31-2012, 09:25 PM   #121
02420X3
Captain
 
Drives: 2011 X3 35i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Boston

Posts: 669
iTrader: (0)

Question - in relation to coding, what does having the software updated, i.e. the Service Bulletin update to eliminate throttle lag, do? Does it update the CAFD? Does it flash the ECU firmware? Something different?
02420X3 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      08-31-2012, 09:45 PM   #122
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 3,749
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by 02420X3 View Post
Question - in relation to coding, what does having the software updated, i.e. the Service Bulletin update to eliminate throttle lag, do? Does it update the CAFD? Does it flash the ECU firmware? Something different?
Generally an SIB requiring a software update will specify a minimum Integration Level (I-Level). That I-Level "package" itself will contain a minimum firmware level for each ECU. When you bring your car in for the I-Level update, ISTA/P will initiate a "Measures Plan", which looks at each ECU's firmware, and updates only those ECU's without the minimum level required by the new I-Level. If your car's I-Level is fairly new, that could only be a couple ECU's. If the car's I-Level is a couple years old, it could be every ECU. If the firmware is updated, a corresponding updated CAFD will be needed to code the ECU's new firmware.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips

Last edited by shawnsheridan; 08-31-2012 at 09:55 PM.
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      08-31-2012, 10:53 PM   #123
April1
Love All
 
April1's Avatar
 
Drives: X3 28i 2011
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: San Francisco

Posts: 738
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via Yahoo to April1
Quote:
Originally Posted by 02420X3 View Post
Question - in relation to coding, what does having the software updated, i.e. the Service Bulletin update to eliminate throttle lag, do? Does it update the CAFD? Does it flash the ECU firmware? Something different?
Cafd files only provide values or decisions to ECU firmware. SIB upgrade updates the ECU firmware itself, thus upgrade may have same or different set of values.

Throttle lag was updated by Varying the torque-speed characteristics. I'm sure it is implemented thru series of data points but not sure where that data reside.
April1 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-02-2012, 10:27 PM   #124
osamu
Registered
 
osamu's Avatar
 
Drives: E89
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: japan

Posts: 1
iTrader: (0)

Hello,

My friend purchased F06 gran coupe.
I would like to coding F06 of him.
What is required?
E89 of me is coded myself.(ncsexpert)
__________________
osamu is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-03-2012, 01:55 AM   #125
April1
Love All
 
April1's Avatar
 
Drives: X3 28i 2011
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: San Francisco

Posts: 738
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via Yahoo to April1
Quote:
Originally Posted by osamu View Post
Hello,

My friend purchased F06 gran coupe.
I would like to coding F06 of him.
What is required?
E89 of me is coded myself.(ncsexpert)
Steps and the requirement are given in the first post. We have to check if we can use F10 selector got your friends car.
April1 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-03-2012, 09:53 AM   #126
X3emist
Enlisted Member
 
X3emist's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 X3 M/Sport
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: SE US

Posts: 48
iTrader: (0)

If you code a change into the ECU and BMW later does an update, does that update overwrite the changes you coded yourself? Will recoding be necessary to restore the desired changes?
__________________
2013 X3 Msport, White/Black Montana, M-Sport/Prem Pkg, Dynamic Handling, Xenons, Cold Weather, HU, Prem Stereo
X3emist is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-03-2012, 09:58 AM   #127
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 3,749
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by X3emist View Post
If you code a change into the ECU and BMW later does an update, does that update overwrite the changes you coded yourself? Will recoding be necessary to restore the desired changes?
If when the Dealer does the update, if that particular ECU is updated by them, then yes, you will loose you custom coding and will have to recode it.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-03-2012, 05:01 PM   #128
Marathon Man
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2013 X3
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Houston

Posts: 30
iTrader: (0)

You may have to re-code, but if you already have the software installed on a laptop and the proper cable, the re-code will only take a few minutes.
Marathon Man is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-05-2012, 07:28 AM   #129
mdallas
New Member
 
Drives: 2013 X3 35i
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Vermont

Posts: 29
iTrader: (0)

can someone please PM me the 47.4 rapidshare links!!?? Please.

I want to do the Auto start –stop remember last setting code on my 2013 F25

Also, any know if "remember last setting for sport, comfort, ECO is available?

thanks!!!
mdallas is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-05-2012, 09:04 AM   #130
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 3,749
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdallas View Post
can someone please PM me the 47.4 rapidshare links!!?? Please.

I want to do the Auto start –stop remember last setting code on my 2013 F25

Also, any know if "remember last setting for sport, comfort, ECO is available?

thanks!!!
With 4 posts, you can't receive PM's.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - 2TB SAT / 6WB MFID Cluster / 4U1 Ceramic Controls / 6NR BMW Apps / Rear Fog Lights / Cyba Double Layer Black Chrome Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-05-2012, 09:48 AM   #131
mdallas
New Member
 
Drives: 2013 X3 35i
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Vermont

Posts: 29
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
With 4 posts, you can't receive PM's.
Hopefuly this will help!!!???

I have coded items already with April1's help. seems that I can't get to the auto start stop without 47.4 (?)


thanks!

or try me at mdallas at trianglemetalfab dot com
mdallas is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-05-2012, 09:48 AM   #132
tobert
New Member
 
Drives: 2013 X3 28i
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Boston, MA

Posts: 9
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by April1 View Post
What is needed for coding:
  1. ENET cable
  2. E-Sys software 3.18.4 with installation password and coding PIN
  3. psdzdata 47.4
  4. A dedicated laptop with Windows XP (preferred) or Windows 7 with minimum 44 GB of free space
  5. Software installer (optional), files attached
  6. Backup utility for CAF files (optional), file attached
  7. Useful Cheat Sheet for F25, file attached
Can you tell me where I could find E-Sys software 3.18.4 with installation password and coding PIN, and psdzdata 47.4?

Thanks!
tobert is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44 PM.




xbimmers
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST