BMW X3 Forum
BMW X3 Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
XBimmers | BMW X3 Forum > BMW X3 Forums | F25 (2011 - Current) > Second Generation BMW X3 General Forum » Coding made Easy: A step by step procedure

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-06-2013, 12:03 PM   #441
Wallo
New Member
 
Drives: X3 F25
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New Jersey

Posts: 14
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by c3uo
Sorry, I've been testing running the software (no cable yet) and opening menus, etc. When you run Tool32 by double clicking the file and then hit F3 and then press F01.prg it just spins the circle and does not go any further..... However, if you run it as administrator it has no problem. I think it's a unique problem to Windows 7.

I'm trying to look through every parameter and all information before I get the cable and connect to my car. I'm pretty scared of f*^$ing something up.

Thanks!
Yes, that solves the problem. Running it as an administrator did it for me.

Btw, I am also very new to coding and followed all the instructions from this thread step by step. It worked perfectly!
Wallo is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      01-06-2013, 05:42 PM   #442
Wallo
New Member
 
Drives: X3 F25
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New Jersey

Posts: 14
iTrader: (0)

EDIBAS was not able to load F01.PRG - it got stuck while opening the file. Anyways, I assume the fault condition is still existing due to the fact that the importer of the car changed the light settings according to German regulations. Some setting seems to make the system assume that the car has the automatic headlight adjustment built in, but in fact it does not.[/quote]

The failure continues. I do not have the automatic headlight adjustment installed, but it is somewhere activated, thus the failure message. I found a thread in the E90 forum that deals with this issue. They suggest to change CHECK_SMC_ERROR in the NFRM part to nicht_aktiv in order to turn off this check.

I cannot find NFRM in my F25, only FRM, but there is no entry CHECK_SMC_ERROR. Does anybody know where I would find that entry for the F25?
Wallo is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      01-06-2013, 05:52 PM   #443
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 4,428
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wallo View Post
EDIBAS was not able to load F01.PRG - it got stuck while opening the file. Anyways, I assume the fault condition is still existing due to the fact that the importer of the car changed the light settings according to German regulations. Some setting seems to make the system assume that the car has the automatic headlight adjustment built in, but in fact it does not.

The failure continues. I do not have the automatic headlight adjustment installed, but it is somewhere activated, thus the failure message. I found a thread in the E90 forum that deals with this issue. They suggest to change CHECK_SMC_ERROR in the NFRM part to nicht_aktiv in order to turn off this check.

I cannot find NFRM in my F25, only FRM, but there is no entry CHECK_SMC_ERROR. Does anybody know where I would find that entry for the F25?
Try running Tool32 as an Administrator.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-06-2013, 08:25 PM   #444
xodium
New Member
 
Drives: X3
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: NJ

Posts: 29
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by xodium View Post
I'm getting an error when i click "connect" on E-sys:

Set PSdZ-Root using "C:\ESysData" failed! [C073]

I've searched the forum and it seems related to the psdzdata being corrupt. Could someone please give me the link to the psdzdata? I've already downloaded this via usenet. I don't want to download from there again as the files may have been corrupt. Thanks in advance....
Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
You can't receive any PM's presumably because of your low Post count. Post up your email if you want the link.
Got it working now. the psdzdata folder was the culprit... Thanks again
xodium is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-06-2013, 09:02 PM   #445
noka
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2013 x35i M-Sport
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: MA

Posts: 321
iTrader: (0)

In anticipation of doing some coding after my X3 arrives, what's the best OS to use (XP/SP3 or Win7/SP1, and if the latter, 32 or 64 bit)?
__________________
2013 x35i (Space Gray, MSport, CW/CWII, DHP, Premium, Premium Sound, Technology, BMW-Apps)
Retired: '09 C300 4Matic, '09 GTI, '06 750i, '05 C55, '04 R32, '03 M5, '02 GTI, '01 M5, '00 M-Coupe, '00 540i/6, '99 M3 Coupe, '98 M3 Coupe, '96 328i,... '86 4000 CS Quattro... too many to list.
noka is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-06-2013, 09:12 PM   #446
xodium
New Member
 
Drives: X3
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: NJ

Posts: 29
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by noka View Post
In anticipation of doing some coding after my X3 arrives, what's the best OS to use (XP/SP3 or Win7/SP1, and if the latter, 32 or 64 bit)?
XP I guess is the best. I used 32 Bit Win 7/SP1. I set up esys to run as administrator. I didn't check if it will run in normal mode though...
xodium is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-06-2013, 09:14 PM   #447
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 4,428
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by noka View Post
In anticipation of doing some coding after my X3 arrives, what's the best OS to use (XP/SP3 or Win7/SP1, and if the latter, 32 or 64 bit)?
Ideally it would be XP 32-Bit, but it will run on Win7 32-Bit or 64-Bit too without any problems.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-06-2013, 09:15 PM   #448
noka
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2013 x35i M-Sport
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: MA

Posts: 321
iTrader: (0)

Thanks for the quick reply. I have an spare/older Dell laptop with XP/SP3. I'll try that one.
__________________
2013 x35i (Space Gray, MSport, CW/CWII, DHP, Premium, Premium Sound, Technology, BMW-Apps)
Retired: '09 C300 4Matic, '09 GTI, '06 750i, '05 C55, '04 R32, '03 M5, '02 GTI, '01 M5, '00 M-Coupe, '00 540i/6, '99 M3 Coupe, '98 M3 Coupe, '96 328i,... '86 4000 CS Quattro... too many to list.
noka is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-06-2013, 10:10 PM   #449
pmacd55
Private First Class
 
pmacd55's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 F25
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: NH

Posts: 115
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2013 BMW X3  [0.00]
2011 328 xi  [0.00]
Coded mine with Win 7 64 bit... no probs
pmacd55 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-07-2013, 11:06 AM   #450
Longbow64
_______
 
Longbow64's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 E90 M3, 13 X3 35i MSport
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Orlando

Posts: 742
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmacd55 View Post
Coded mine with Win 7 64 bit... no probs
I was able to code my F25 X3 without issue with a Win 7 64 bit laptop as well. I was not able to code my E90 M3 with NCSEXPER with the same laptop.
__________________

'09 E90 M3 | VF620 SC tuned and coded by BPM | KW V3 | ARC Wheels w/AD08 | OnEighty Lights | AA Signature Exhaust | BMW Performance and IND trim | Recaro Profi and child seats
'13 35i M-Sport X3 | JB4 Stage 1 | BMS Intake | H&R Springs | Gloss black grill | CF Wrap and Coded by me
Longbow64 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-07-2013, 11:09 AM   #451
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 4,428
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Longbow64 View Post
I was able to code my F25 X3 without issue with a Win 7 64 bit laptop as well. I was not able to code my E90 M3 with NCSEXPER with the same laptop.
No, but you can if you upgrade to BMW Standard Tools 212, which adds support for 64 Bit NCS Expert.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-07-2013, 12:20 PM   #452
groovyone789
New Member
 
Drives: 2013 BMW X3 28i
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Jacksonville FL

Posts: 18
iTrader: (0)

Got everything coded the other night. Thanks to Shawnsheridan and April1 for their help. I can also confirm it works on a super old VAIO netbook running Vista.
groovyone789 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-07-2013, 12:49 PM   #453
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 4,428
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by groovyone789 View Post
Got everything coded the other night. Thanks to Shawnsheridan and April1 for their help. I can also confirm it works on a super old VAIO netbook running Vista.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-07-2013, 07:30 PM   #454
pmacd55
Private First Class
 
pmacd55's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 F25
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: NH

Posts: 115
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2013 BMW X3  [0.00]
2011 328 xi  [0.00]
Vista LOL.... if it works with that it'll work with anything !!
pmacd55 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-07-2013, 07:57 PM   #455
lbjgh
Major
 
lbjgh's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 AW X3 M-Sport
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North of Toronto

Posts: 1,451
iTrader: (0)

hey, don't slag Vista... I just installed it on an old laptop for my son over the weekend and it's working fine. It only took about 2GB of updates.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pmacd55 View Post
Vista LOL.... if it works with that it'll work with anything !!
__________________
2013, AW, xDrive35i, M Sport Package, Technology Package, Dynamic Comfort Package, Premium Package, 3M Clear Bra, Euro foglight switch, a few coded fixes
lbjgh is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-07-2013, 09:41 PM   #456
pmacd55
Private First Class
 
pmacd55's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 F25
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: NH

Posts: 115
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2013 BMW X3  [0.00]
2011 328 xi  [0.00]
Well I guess it's better than Microsoft Bob, if you go back that far !
pmacd55 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-08-2013, 05:53 PM   #457
Wallo
New Member
 
Drives: X3 F25
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New Jersey

Posts: 14
iTrader: (0)

Traffic info in nav

Hi again, I managed to get traffic information (TP) into the configuration for the German setup, it also interrupts CDs when they broadcast traffic on the radio, but it is not transferred to the nav system. Does anybody know what else I need to change?
Wallo is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      01-08-2013, 09:44 PM   #458
noka
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2013 x35i M-Sport
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: MA

Posts: 321
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Longbow64 View Post
The reading is dynamic
I assume the display is just green (OK) or red (low) for the default TPMS display and that a warning is also generated. After coding, to include temperature and pressure readings (shown below in pic from older post by Longbow64), does a low tire still turn red and is there still a warning generated?
Attached Images
 
__________________
2013 x35i (Space Gray, MSport, CW/CWII, DHP, Premium, Premium Sound, Technology, BMW-Apps)
Retired: '09 C300 4Matic, '09 GTI, '06 750i, '05 C55, '04 R32, '03 M5, '02 GTI, '01 M5, '00 M-Coupe, '00 540i/6, '99 M3 Coupe, '98 M3 Coupe, '96 328i,... '86 4000 CS Quattro... too many to list.
noka is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-08-2013, 10:18 PM   #459
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 4,428
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by noka View Post
I assume the display is just green (OK) or red (low) for the default TPMS display and that a warning is also generated. After coding, to include temperature and pressure readings (shown below in pic from older post by Longbow64), does a low tire still turn red and is there still a warning generated?
It functions as it always did, only with the addition of Pressure and Temperature readings.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-09-2013, 05:36 PM   #460
lbjgh
Major
 
lbjgh's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 AW X3 M-Sport
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North of Toronto

Posts: 1,451
iTrader: (0)

Hey guys, I got a new laptop with win8 and now the save icon is greyed out so I can't save the changes to the FDL during the coding process.

Is there a work around for this?
__________________
2013, AW, xDrive35i, M Sport Package, Technology Package, Dynamic Comfort Package, Premium Package, 3M Clear Bra, Euro foglight switch, a few coded fixes
lbjgh is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-09-2013, 05:48 PM   #461
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 4,428
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by lbjgh View Post
Hey guys, I got a new laptop with win8 and now the save icon is greyed out so I can't save the changes to the FDL during the coding process.

Is there a work around for this?
You installed the EST Token correctly?
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-09-2013, 05:52 PM   #462
lbjgh
Major
 
lbjgh's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 AW X3 M-Sport
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North of Toronto

Posts: 1,451
iTrader: (0)

Yep, I used april1 instructions and it worked fine on an old winxp laptop.

I was able to connect to the car, read FA and SVT ok.

I'll go through the instructions again to double check I didn't miss anything.
__________________
2013, AW, xDrive35i, M Sport Package, Technology Package, Dynamic Comfort Package, Premium Package, 3M Clear Bra, Euro foglight switch, a few coded fixes
lbjgh is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 AM.




xbimmers
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST