BMW X3 Forum
BMW X3 Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
XBimmers | BMW X3 Forum > BMW X3 Forums | F25 (2011 - Current) > Second Generation BMW X3 General Forum » Coding made Easy: A step by step procedure

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-27-2012, 04:47 PM   #397
rory breaker
Private First Class
 
Drives: C63
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NC

Posts: 119
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
No BMW entity, be it a Dealer or a BMW performance shop (unless perhaps they are independant) will code your car.

If you code something obvious, it will be noticeable to your Dealer. However, it does not void your warranty in and of itself. Now if somehow you brick a module, and they can pin that on your coding, then you are likely on the hook for that module. If you are worried about it though, you can just reset the car before you take it to the dealer.
Thats what I am thinking - not a BMW-branded performance shop, rather an independent tuner/performance shop that specializes in BMW's. I will call around.
rory breaker is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-27-2012, 05:18 PM   #398
Wallo
New Member
 
Drives: X3 F25
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New Jersey

Posts: 14
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
"No Traget" more than likely the "dist" folders are missing from your installation. The folders should be empty, but they need to be there.

So, make sure that there is a "Dist" folder in each of the Chassis (F01/F10/F25) folders etc.:

e.g. "C:\ESysData\psdzdata\mainseries\F010\F010_12_03_5 1 1\odx\dist"

Attachment 800699
I do have those folders. Could there be another issue?

Last edited by Wallo; 12-27-2012 at 05:29 PM.
Wallo is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      12-27-2012, 09:39 PM   #399
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 4,427
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wallo View Post
I do have those folders. Could there be another issue?
Is the Target window completely empty, or you can you see Targets, but just can't connect?

Is E-Sys showing an Error Code in Brackets, e.g., [C049], and if so, what is it?
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-28-2012, 02:28 AM   #400
Wallo
New Member
 
Drives: X3 F25
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New Jersey

Posts: 14
iTrader: (0)

The target window is completely empty.
Wallo is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      12-28-2012, 03:23 AM   #401
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 4,427
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wallo View Post
The target window is completely empty.
Did you do this?

Run "C:\EC-Apps\ESG\E-Sys\E-Sys.exe" (It will take E-Sys a while to write the log file).
Under Options, Settings:
On the PROGRAM TAB, set the Directories - Data Path to C:\ESysData
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-28-2012, 02:29 PM   #402
Wallo
New Member
 
Drives: X3 F25
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New Jersey

Posts: 14
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wallo View Post
The target window is completely empty.
Did you do this?

Run "C:\EC-Apps\ESG\E-Sys\E-Sys.exe" (It will take E-Sys a while to write the log file).
Under Options, Settings:
On the PROGRAM TAB, set the Directories - Data Path to C:\ESysData
All done as suggested, did not help. Maybe I should re-install?
Wallo is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      12-28-2012, 02:59 PM   #403
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 4,427
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wallo View Post
All done as suggested, did not help. Maybe I should re-install?
Which PSdZData are you using, and did you use one of April1's batch files for the install?
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-29-2012, 01:08 PM   #404
Wallo
New Member
 
Drives: X3 F25
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New Jersey

Posts: 14
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wallo View Post
All done as suggested, did not help. Maybe I should re-install?
Which PSdZData are you using, and did you use one of April1's batch files for the install?
I am using 2_46.3 and did not use a batch file for the installation
Wallo is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      12-29-2012, 01:25 PM   #405
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 4,427
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wallo View Post
I am using 2_46.3 and did not use a batch file for the installation
I want you to delete your old PSdZData folder and replace it in its entirety with the full 48.1 PSdZData. Then try it and see what you get.

PM sent.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-30-2012, 07:00 PM   #406
Wallo
New Member
 
Drives: X3 F25
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New Jersey

Posts: 14
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wallo View Post
I am using 2_46.3 and did not use a batch file for the installation
I want you to delete your old PSdZData folder and replace it in its entirety with the full 48.1 PSdZData. Then try it and see what you get.

PM sent.
It worked! Thanks so much for your help. I am only making a full back up now and hopefully have some time on Jan 2nd to try some coding. Do you happen to know where to activate the TMC module?
Happy New Year!
Wallo is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      12-31-2012, 08:38 AM   #407
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 4,427
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wallo View Post
It worked! Thanks so much for your help. I am only making a full back up now and hopefully have some time on Jan 2nd to try some coding. Do you happen to know where to activate the TMC module?
Happy New Year!
TMC? Is that for Traffic on Nav?
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-31-2012, 12:46 PM   #408
damavr
New Member
 
Drives: 2013 BMW X3 28i M
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Toledo, OH

Posts: 17
iTrader: (0)

New member here and getting the X3 in the next couple of weeks, very interested in changing some of the settings and wanted to hear from some of the members on which ones you think are the most worth while to do?

Thanks

Last edited by damavr; 12-31-2012 at 01:17 PM.
damavr is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-31-2012, 01:24 PM   #409
April1
Love All
 
April1's Avatar
 
Drives: X3 28i 2011
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: San Francisco

Posts: 738
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via Yahoo to April1
Members here are very sensible and will advice you correctly. Post your questions and some one with enough knowledge and experience will answer you.
April1 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-01-2013, 04:12 PM   #410
lbjgh
Major
 
lbjgh's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 AW X3 M-Sport
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North of Toronto

Posts: 1,451
iTrader: (0)

Has anyone been able to code cruise control ON after start?
__________________
2013, AW, xDrive35i, M Sport Package, Technology Package, Dynamic Comfort Package, Premium Package, 3M Clear Bra, Euro foglight switch, a few coded fixes
lbjgh is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      01-02-2013, 08:50 PM   #411
Aziego
New Member
 
Drives: 2013 X3
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: NJ

Posts: 12
iTrader: (0)

Picked up the X3 a few weeks ago and found this awesome forum. Anyway, I am trying my hand at coding. Took an old laptop and installed win732-bit with e-sys 3.18.4 and psdzdata 4.74. On the first try, everything connected but was not able to download HU_CHAMP2. I just got an error message. So I figured I need to update the psdzdata files. I search and downloaded the files for 47.5 and then the files for 48.1. Now I can't connect anymore, it just says psdzdata is corrupted. Is there a special way to install the updated psdzdata files? I just un-rar the updates into the psdzdata folder. I will also try to get a new copy of the update files, originally obtained them from usenet.

Also another question, I did not see this in the cheat sheet but is there a code to turn off the annoying chime when the temperature drops below 37 degrees? Most annoying when I start the car and get the idrive warning and then the temperature warning.
Aziego is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-02-2013, 09:06 PM   #412
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 4,427
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aziego View Post
Picked up the X3 a few weeks ago and found this awesome forum. Anyway, I am trying my hand at coding. Took an old laptop and installed win732-bit with e-sys 3.18.4 and psdzdata 4.74. On the first try, everything connected but was not able to download HU_CHAMP2. I just got an error message. So I figured I need to update the psdzdata files. I search and downloaded the files for 47.5 and then the files for 48.1. Now I can't connect anymore, it just says psdzdata is corrupted. Is there a special way to install the updated psdzdata files? I just un-rar the updates into the psdzdata folder. I will also try to get a new copy of the update files, originally obtained them from usenet.

Also another question, I did not see this in the cheat sheet but is there a code to turn off the annoying chime when the temperature drops below 37 degrees? Most annoying when I start the car and get the idrive warning and then the temperature warning.
I can help you with your PSdZData issue, but I can not PM you because of your Post Count, so put up an email here if you want my help.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-03-2013, 12:16 AM   #413
Longbow64
_______
 
Longbow64's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 E90 M3, 13 X3 35i MSport
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Orlando

Posts: 742
iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aziego
Picked up the X3 a few weeks ago and found this awesome forum. Anyway, I am trying my hand at coding. Took an old laptop and installed win732-bit with e-sys 3.18.4 and psdzdata 4.74. On the first try, everything connected but was not able to download HU_CHAMP2. I just got an error message. So I figured I need to update the psdzdata files. I search and downloaded the files for 47.5 and then the files for 48.1. Now I can't connect anymore, it just says psdzdata is corrupted. Is there a special way to install the updated psdzdata files? I just un-rar the updates into the psdzdata folder. I will also try to get a new copy of the update files, originally obtained them from usenet.

Also another question, I did not see this in the cheat sheet but is there a code to turn off the annoying chime when the temperature drops below 37 degrees? Most annoying when I start the car and get the idrive warning and then the temperature warning.
Unzip your new psdzdata to the desktop. Delete the psdzdata folder from your C:\ESysData folder and move the new psdzdata folder from your desktop to the C:\ESysData folder. Do not copy over top of or into the old psdzdata folder
__________________

'09 E90 M3 | VF620 SC tuned and coded by BPM | KW V3 | ARC Wheels w/AD08 | OnEighty Lights | AA Signature Exhaust | BMW Performance and IND trim | Recaro Profi and child seats
'13 35i M-Sport X3 | JB4 Stage 1 | BMS Intake | H&R Springs | Gloss black grill | CF Wrap and Coded by me
Longbow64 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-03-2013, 06:22 AM   #414
Wallo
New Member
 
Drives: X3 F25
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New Jersey

Posts: 14
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
TMC? Is that for Traffic on Nav?
Yes, TMC stands for traffic message channel and is used throughout Europe as a standard to update Nav systems with up to date traffic information. Pretty much every major radio station is part of TMC. It somehow needs to be activated, currently my Nav system does not receive any traffic information. What probably is connected is the a feature that makes the radio "stick" to a station as long as possible while driving. Most stations broadcast on various frequencies, depending on location. There is somewhere a setting that activates this feature, which is standard in Europe.

I successfully changed the radio frequencies to ECE settings and also activated the speed display in the BC. Works beautifully!

Another small issue is a failure message that pops up every time I turn off the engine. It indicates that there is a failure in the "automatic headlight adjustment system" which I don`t have, since it is a US version. Does anybody know where to turn this message off?
Wallo is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      01-03-2013, 06:50 AM   #415
noka
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2013 x35i M-Sport
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: MA

Posts: 321
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wallo View Post
Yes, TMC stands for traffic message channel and is used throughout Europe as a standard to update Nav systems with up to date traffic information. Pretty much every major radio station is part of TMC. It somehow needs to be activated, currently my Nav system does not receive any traffic information. What probably is connected is the a feature that makes the radio "stick" to a station as long as possible while driving. Most stations broadcast on various frequencies, depending on location. There is somewhere a setting that activates this feature, which is standard in Europe.

I successfully changed the radio frequencies to ECE settings and also activated the speed display in the BC. Works beautifully!

Another small issue is a failure message that pops up every time I turn off the engine. It indicates that there is a failure in the "automatic headlight adjustment system" which I don`t have, since it is a US version. Does anybody know where to turn this message off?
Is the "automatic headlight adjustment system" the option that turns high beams on/off depending on oncoming traffic or the self-leveling function of the Xenons? Do you have a pic of the speed display?
__________________
2013 x35i (Space Gray, MSport, CW/CWII, DHP, Premium, Premium Sound, Technology, BMW-Apps)
Retired: '09 C300 4Matic, '09 GTI, '06 750i, '05 C55, '04 R32, '03 M5, '02 GTI, '01 M5, '00 M-Coupe, '00 540i/6, '99 M3 Coupe, '98 M3 Coupe, '96 328i,... '86 4000 CS Quattro... too many to list.
noka is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-03-2013, 07:52 AM   #416
Wallo
New Member
 
Drives: X3 F25
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New Jersey

Posts: 14
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by noka View Post
Is the "automatic headlight adjustment system" the option that turns high beams on/off depending on oncoming traffic or the self-leveling function of the Xenons? Do you have a pic of the speed display?
It is the self-leveling function of the Xenon, but I don`t have Xenon... I will take a picture of the speed display later and post it.
Wallo is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
      01-03-2013, 09:01 AM   #417
shawnsheridan
Brigadier General
 
shawnsheridan's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 535i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

Posts: 4,427
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wallo View Post
Yes, TMC stands for traffic message channel and is used throughout Europe as a standard to update Nav systems with up to date traffic information. Pretty much every major radio station is part of TMC. It somehow needs to be activated, currently my Nav system does not receive any traffic information. What probably is connected is the a feature that makes the radio "stick" to a station as long as possible while driving. Most stations broadcast on various frequencies, depending on location. There is somewhere a setting that activates this feature, which is standard in Europe.

I successfully changed the radio frequencies to ECE settings and also activated the speed display in the BC. Works beautifully!

Another small issue is a failure message that pops up every time I turn off the engine. It indicates that there is a failure in the "automatic headlight adjustment system" which I don`t have, since it is a US version. Does anybody know where to turn this message off?
Yes, I know what TMC stands for, I was just making sure that was the TMC you were referring to.

Check your HU_CIC / TI_CA_TMC setting. I think aktiv = RTTI and nicht aktiv = TMC.

For your KOMBI error, assuming the fault condition no longer exists, to clear the fault code.

1) Launch C:\EDIABAS\Bin\TOOL32.EXE
2) Hit F3
3) Load C:\EDIABAS\Ecu\F01.PRG
4) In the "Select Job: F01" window, select FS_LOESCHEN_FUNKTIONAL
5) Hit F5
6) "Results" window should show "JOB_STATUS = OKAY"

Hopefully, Problem Solved.

Note: fs_lesen_funktional only read fault codes, FS_LOESCHEN_FUNKTIONAL will delete it.
__________________

- 2011 535i M-Sport (Born 10/10) - AW/BLK/DW - /ZMP (w/ARS, EDC, DHP, & AD) /ZPP /ZP2 (w/ZPS & ZPT) /ZCV (w/SCAD) /6FL /6VC
- Mods - M5 343M 20" Forged Wheels / 6WB MFID / 2TB SAT / 4U1 Ceramic / 6NR Apps / PDV 5k Fogs / Rear Fogs / Euro Tail Lights / Cyba Quad Tips
shawnsheridan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      01-03-2013, 04:36 PM   #418
Wallo
New Member
 
Drives: X3 F25
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New Jersey

Posts: 14
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Yes, I know what TMC stands for, I was just making sure that was the TMC you were referring to.

Check your HU_CIC / TI_CA_TMC setting. I think aktiv = RTTI and nicht aktiv = TMC.

For your KOMBI error, assuming the fault condition no longer exists, to clear the fault code.

1) Launch C:\EDIABAS\Bin\TOOL32.EXE
2) Hit F3
3) Load C:\EDIABAS\Ecu\F01.PRG
4) In the "Select Job: F01" window, select FS_LOESCHEN_FUNKTIONAL
5) Hit F5
6) "Results" window should show "JOB_STATUS = OKAY"

Hopefully, Problem Solved.

Note: fs_lesen_funktional only read fault codes, FS_LOESCHEN_FUNKTIONAL will delete it.
I changed HU_CIC / TI_CA_TMC setting to nicht aktiv. Now I have "TP" in the status line. I assume that means it is activated, although the nav system did not display any traffic while they announced some on the radio. Since I was not driving, this is only a preliminary report. I will get back to you once I tried it while driving and using the nav.

EDIBAS was not able to load F01.PRG - it got stuck while opening the file. Anyways, I assume the fault condition is still existing due to the fact that the importer of the car changed the light settings according to German regulations. Some setting seems to make the system assume that the car has the automatic headlight adjustment built in, but in fact it does not.
Wallo is offline   Germany
0
Reply With Quote
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37 AM.




xbimmers
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST