BMW X3 Forum
BMW X3 Forum
Welcome to the ultimate BMW X3 community.
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

03-04-2024, 07:49 PM   #1
doubledax3
Rep
Drives: 05 E46 iT, 12 X3 28i

Removing grilles from 12 F25

Hey all .... just need some info about removing the grilles. I'm a pretty damn good mechanic, Ill admit the X3 is new to me.
I swear it looks like you practically have to pull the whole front cover assy. to access the tabs that need to be relieved to pop the grilles out. It cant be that complicated ?? I removed a bunch of bolts across the top , above radiator, plastic trim piece. No luck ...
Any tips would be nice. thanks
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2024, 09:07 PM   #2
pungo
Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: Z4MC-X3-35i-525i, Corrado G60

Garage List
Use a hose tool or a flat blade screw driver bent in a U-shape through the front of the grille to unlatch the clips.

Name:  hose tool.bmp
Views: 69
Size:  4.12 MB
Appreciate 0
      03-05-2024, 02:25 AM   #3
Beeeming
Registered
Rep
Drives: 2014 BMW X3 35i

Thanks for the info on needed tool
Appreciate 0
      03-05-2024, 02:13 PM   #4
doubledax3
Rep

Im sure I can probably make a tool like that. SO.... put it between the slats and pull UP ? on the clips, or, toward the center of the grill ???

Looks like theres about three clips at the top and three at the bottom ??

Thanks for the tip ...
Appreciate 0
      03-05-2024, 02:25 PM   #5
mwat
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: E46 M3 & LCI X3 35i M Sport

Garage List
2016 BMW X3 35i  [0.00]
2001 BMW M3  [0.00]
Mine was an LCI X3 and it was quite literally impossible to use any tool to release the grill fully without taking the bumper off.

After reading a million forum posts someone said to get as many clips as you can (I think I only got the top 2 after pulling the bumper back) and then yank the grill (by the slats) outwards towards with two hands. They both popped right out, I think I broke maybe 1 tab on each grill.