BMW X3 Forum
BMW X3 Forum
Welcome to the ultimate BMW X3 community.
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

12-26-2021, 09:48 PM   #1
BigMF
Registered
Rep
Drives: 2013 - BMW X3 35I

Question Newbie mistake on AC system, need advice

All, I'm an idiot. There, I've said it so you don't have to.

Second, I'm very new to working on BMW's. I have a couple of years of experience working on my Lexus LX570 but that is the limit of my hands-on experience.

I was working on my daughter's 2013 X3 X35i to replace the water pump and thermostat (PITA, but complete). I removed the intercooler to free up some room to work on it. Not believing all of the posts and YouTube videos stating that there was NOT a drain plug, I was delighted to see a plug at the bottom of the passenger side of the radiator. In my haste, I did not pause to do my research and determine that it was in fact what I believe is the A/C condenser. I proceeded to loosen the white plastic plug and was very fortunate indeed that I had my head back behind the lip of the bumper when the plug shot out at an extremely high speed along with all of the refrigerant. I did get a face full of the gas but had glasses on, fortunately.

Now that you've stopped laughing at me, perhaps you can give me some advice. First, I know I need to replace the desiccant/dryer pouch that also shot out and into my bucket full of coolant that I had already drained off the hard way. Is there any reason that the BMW version is $160'ish? I've found one on Amazon that says fits my daughter's car and looks identical for $20.

Second, I am fairly certain I'll need to take it to a shop to recharge the refrigerant properly because there is some kind of "vacuum" process that I know nothing about.

I'm in something of a quandary. I don't know if I should: