BMW X3 Forum
BMW X3 Forum
Welcome to the ultimate BMW X3 community.
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

03-01-2023, 11:33 AM   #1
Fallstaff
Registered
Rep
Drives: 2012 X3 28i

Hello Bimmerpost!
Just bought a 2013 x3 and am hoping this forum will be a good place to learn more about it.
I just got rid of my Land Rover Discovery and have always had a great experience over at Land Rover Forums and hope that BMW owners are as enthusiastic and helpful.
I have a few questions, I’m sure many are answered somewhere, but I’ve not found anything obvious so I’ll just ask here.

OBD tools! What’s the recommendations on those? I’m a shade tree mechanic at best, but always willing to take a crack at things.
I can see I’ve got a rear break pad job in my future and will need something to wind back the parking system. So at minimum I need that feature, but what else is there to look for? If I get a cheap one that can do that am I going to regret not getting a better one for the next job to come down the pipe?

The air filter: I went to look at it last night, seems there are four clips on the box. Three make perfect sense - reach in and unclip. But the forth one (bottom right); how on earth do you reach that? Seems to be completely enclosed. You’d have to have the hands of a spider monkey to get to it. What gives?

The Bluetooth system: it pairs with my iPhone just fine, but only uses phone functions. Is there no way to make it “see” the audio? I know it’s 2013, but still… And if I plug the iPhone in it says I’m using the wrong cable. Any idea what the right cable would be?

I’m sure I’ll have 100’s more questions in the years to come, but I’ll leave it there.

Thanks and hello!
👋
Appreciate 0
      03-01-2023, 12:01 PM   #2
pungo
Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: Z4MC-X3-35i-525i, Corrado G60

Garage List
Welcome to the forum....
  • Install ista+ on a laptop with a $15 ethernet>obd cable for one the best tools