BMW X3 Forum
BMW X3 Forum
Welcome to the ultimate BMW X3 community.
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

10-12-2022, 10:10 PM   #1
jredell
Rep
Drives: 2011 BMW X3

2011 X3 2.8i issues (need help)

OK, so my daughter's x3 is having some issues and now it's my problem after some other "friends" tried to fix it. Basically it wouldn't start so here's what they did:
1. Replaced battery
2. Replaced low pressure fuel pump

This is where it got turned over to me. After digging in a bit, I figured it might be the fuel pump control module so I got another one. The factory module was covered in some nasty goo someone spilled on the backseat. Anyway, so now I have a new battery (now dead), a new fuel pump, and a new (ebay) fuel pump control module.

I am new to BMWs, but have read enough to think that I need e-sys to code the new fuel pump control module? I have an enet cable, and am downloading e-sys now. I made a feeble attempt this weekend to connect to the car, but the ignition will not stay on long enough to do anything. Battery voltage was about 12.5 when I started, but is now about 12.2v. I'm coming to this forum hoping someone can point me in the right direction to get this thing running again and out of my driveway.
Appreciate 0
      10-13-2022, 11:45 AM   #2
deyrag
Private
Rep
Drives: x3 2.8i

Does it crank and not fire or not crank over at all?

if not crank at all, possibly bad starter. Just went through this and originally thought bad battery but ended up being bad starter that somehow also killed the battery
Appreciate 0
      10-13-2022, 11:51 AM   #3
jredell
Rep

With a good charge on the battery it'll crank, just no start. I need to figure out this whole E-Sys program el pronto. Is there such a thing as an easy button for a diagnostic and module programmer?
Appreciate 0
      10-13-2022, 06:34 PM   #4
pungo
Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: Z4MC-X3-35i-525i, Corrado G60

Garage List
Maybe some of these docs will help?

E-SYS User_Manual_V_3_33_0.pdf