BMW X3 Forum
BMW X3 Forum
Welcome to the ultimate BMW X3 community.
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

10-21-2015, 01:47 AM   #1
JohnAG
Private
Germany
Rep
Drives: 2016 X3 28i M Sport

Auto Start/Stop Concerns

I'm just curious if I'm the only one who is somewhat concerned with the wear and tear to the starter motor and battery of the auto start/stop function, that I'm seriously considering leaving it off all the time. I don't know how much improvements have been made over the years to the starter motor design and parts, but electric motors in general have a limited service life due primarily to damage inflicted by friction and heat. Again, being a former mechanic, I've replaced many starter motors, and with this function a 1 hour trip through a busy city route could probably log on 1 years worth of wear and tear compared to cars that don't have this function.

Again, I don't know what improvements have been made on the bearings and the innards of the motor itself, but unless it is rated to last for 1 million start and stop cycle, I'd feel weary in having it on thinking that it will die on me the day after my warranty expires.

Same concern goes to the battery since all the electrical devices remains on when the engine cuts off. Has anyone experienced pre-mature battery replacement (around 1 year or less)?
Appreciate 0
      10-21-2015, 03:49 AM   #2
Peter_R
Air Vice Marshall
United Kingdom
Rep
Drives: X1 LCI xDrive 2.0i M Sport

I am sure you will find that BMW have carried out considerable testing on the starter motor components and they have been designed accordingly and will last long enough.

Again in my view there should be no problem with the battery lasting just as long as if there was no start stop system in the car. Again I would have thought that BMW would have tested this scenario.