BMW X3 Forum
BMW X3 Forum
Welcome to the ultimate BMW X3 community.
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

06-13-2014, 01:42 PM   #1
dan914
Registered
Rep
Drives: X3

Lease tax question

This is my first time leasing a car and I have a question about how sales tax is calculated. I live in New York and here we are not taxed on the full purchase price of the car.

My question is: Will I pay tax on just the principle part of the lease (i.e. Sale Price - Residual)? Or, do you also pay tax on the interest and/or fees?

From the quote they gave me, it seems like they are calculating tax on the interest and fees. I just want to make sure that this is how it is supposed to work.

Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      06-13-2014, 08:37 PM   #2
Coreyn
Enlisted Member
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2014 X-3 35i

Garage List
2014 BMW X-3  [0.00]
2014 BMW X-3  [0.00]
You pay sales tax on the lease payment, very simple.
Appreciate 0
      06-14-2014, 03:23 PM   #3
Leighton
Enlisted Member
Rep
Drives: BMW