BMW X3 Forum
BMW X3 Forum
Welcome to the ultimate BMW X3 community.
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

03-10-2015, 10:56 PM   #1
JohnAG
Private
Germany
Rep
Drives: 2016 X3 28i M Sport

Navigation Outside North America and Europe

Hi everyone. I'm a newbie to this forum as I just ordered my first BMW ever early this week, a 2016 X3 xDrive 28i M Sport, with pretty much all available options/upgrade. I'm told that I probably won't see it until August because I'm located in South Korea...so the long wait begins.http://x3.xbimmers.com/forums/images/smilies/sigh.gif

So my newbie question is, since like I said I'm located in South Korea and I'll be receiving the US X3 model, I know that it will come with the US Navigation software and I'm told that it will not work here in Korea. So has anyone figured out a way (or a hack perhaps) for the Navigation to work in Asia? I say Asia since if someone figured it out how to make it work say in Japan, I'll be almost certain that it can be done in Korea as well.

I had another car that used DVD for its map database, so when I went to Germany all I had to do was replace the DVD with the German version to have the Nav to work there. I'm wondering if it is just a matter of loading the software into the NAV, even if the software is not in English. I've gotten used, or should I say found a work around, to the Korean NAV with my current Korean model car.

I'd really hate to have a fully loaded car with a Nav unit stuck on the windshield which I see all the time here . Thanks in advance.
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2015, 10:48 AM   #2
ND40oz
Major
Rep
Drives: M2 CS