BMW X3 Forum
BMW X3 Forum
Welcome to the ultimate BMW X3 community.
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

12-06-2016, 02:40 AM   #1
bjp1979
Private
Rep
Drives: VW Golf TDI soon to be X1 20d

5 year service plan. Should I buy?

Will be picking up my new X3 next week.

Typically I only do about 7000 miles a year.

The first service apparently isn't due till 16000 miles.

I have the car on a PCP arrangement for 4 years but will likely hand it back for something else after 3 years.

Is it true about the 16000 miles till the first service is due. I'm new to BMW - my dealer is Williams...

My question is - based on my mileage do you think I will get away with just the one service. Typically what will this first service cost and is it worth me getting the 5 year service plan. It would cost me £468 overall, or another £12 a month.

Really unsure what to do so help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Ben
Appreciate 0
      12-06-2016, 03:19 AM   #2
Smithy2014
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: X3 2.0d msport Auto

Servicing is both time and mileage based therefore even if you don't do the miles you will still need a service every 12 months. £468 is a bargain to cover your X3 for all of its servicing needs for your 4 years of ownership. Not sure what BMW charge for individual services but my last vehicle a Land Rover cost me £290 for the first, £390 for the second and £350 for the third
      12-06-2016, 03:19 AM   #3
Flipflop99
Private
Rep
Drives: X3 LCI 2.0d SE Auto

I've got the service plan and its not worth the money in my opinion. But I own my car outright and intend to keep it for many years. You'll only be giving the value of the plan to the person who owns the car after you as on your mileage, you'll only get one service from it.

7000 miles a year? Are you sure you want a diesel?
Appreciate 0
      12-06-2016, 03:24 AM   #4
Flipflop99
Private
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smithy2014 View Post