BMW X3 Forum
BMW X3 Forum
Welcome to the ultimate BMW X3 community.
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

08-27-2011, 09:59 AM   #1
mnmkw
Rep
Drives: X3 2.8i

Question PDC help

I'm a new X3 owner. This is my first time to have Park Distance Control and I could use some help in interpreting the graphics. (Hopefully my photo is attached).

In the photo I am parked in my garage. I have some boxes lined up against the wall in front of me. I understand that the red in front of the car means that I am about 12 inches in front of an object, right? Although in my mind the colors should be reversed. It doesn't make sense to me that the green (which should mean safe) is actually where the boxes probably are.

Regarding the back up camera, I'm don't understand what the yellow box is. Does that mean that if I turn my wheel to track along that red line, I will hit something? I assume that is why there is a graphic showing to the left rear of the car on the PDC?

Interpreting the PDC just isn't intuitive to me. But that is probably just me! Thank you for any help.
Attached Images

Appreciate 0
      08-27-2011, 11:31 AM   #2
powertech83
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: F25 X3 20d

The acoustic signal when PDC is active indicates how close you are to an object, the graphic on the iDrive is only an aid to let you know approximately where and also how close the object is.
When there is nothing in front/rear of your vehicle, the graphics will just show grey area with no color in it. When you are approaching an object, a "blob" is starting to appear in green area. The closer you get to that object, it will "grow" to the yellow area, and when you are very close to an object, it will show up closer to the car graphic and red.
In your case, the boxes are the red part in that picture.